Employer's Guide to Washington Paid Sick & Safe Time
Related Practice: Employment
While the statewide mandatory paid sick and safe leave for employees will not go into effect until next year, several cities throughout the state have their own regulations currently in place.
The city regulations vary depending on location, type of business, and number of employees. Businesses with employees in these city limits should review their policies and practices to ensure they are compliant.
The table below offers a high-level comparison of the pending state regulations and the cities that currently have their own requirements. If you have specific questions regarding how these regulations impact your business, contact a member of the Stokes Lawrence Employment group.
|Location||Type of Leave||Employer Type||Accrual||Max Accrual/
Carryover Per Calendar Year
|WA State (effective 2018)||Paid Sick & Safe Time||All employers||1 hour per 40 hours worked||No cap on accrual|
|SeaTac||Paid Sick & Safe Time||Hospitality or Transportation Employer, as defined by Ordinance||1 hour per 40 hours worked||Lump sum payment for unused accrued time at end of calendar year|
|Seattle||Paid Sick & Safe Time||4 - 49 FTEs||1 hour per 40 hours worked||40 Hours|
|50 - 249 FTEs||1 hour per 40 hours worked||56 Hours|
|250+ FTEs||1 hour per 30 hours worked||72 Hours (108 for employers with a paid time off (PTO) policy)|
|Spokane*||Paid Sick & Safe Time||Fewer than 10 employees||1 hour per 30 hours worked||Maximum bank of 24 hours|
|10+ employees||1 hour per 40 hours worked||Maximum bank of 40 hours|
|Tacoma||Paid Sick & Safe Time, Bereavement||All employers||1 hour per 40 hours worked||Maximum bank of 24 hours|
*The Spokane ordinance was recently amended to include a sunset provision, after which the law will no longer be effective. Section 09.01.140 . The law will be effective until December 31, 2017, or until the implementation the Washington state mandatory paid sick leave law, whichever occurs last.